Math CEO Team

Our team is composed of professors, graduate and undergraduate students at UC Irvine, along with middle school teachers from the Santa Ana Unified School District. Together, we strive to offer an enriching and stimulating mathematical learning experience for the very special children in the UCI Math CEO program.

Alessandra Pantano is the Director of the UC Irvine Math Circle. She received her Ph.D. in Mathematics from Princeton University in 2004, and is currently a Lecturer SOE in the UC Irvine Department of Mathematics.

Li-Sheng Tseng is an Asscciate Professor in Mathematics at UC Irvine and does research in geometry/topology and physics.

Aghavni Simonyan is a Coordinator for Math CEO. She obtained her PhD in Mathematics at UC Irvine in 2017. Her research interests lie in Applied and Computational Mathematics and Mathematical Biology. Aghavni has a lifelong passion for mathematics, and she inspires her students to love math and helps them reach their full potential.

Andres Forero is a Academic Coordinator of Math CEO. He is a passionate and creative teacher and loves to use different resources to guide students to learning. His hometown is Bogota, Colombia. He obtained his PhD in UC Irvine in 2015. His research area is Inner Model Theory, a branch of Set Theory in which models of set are built in a very specific way.

Jasmina Matasovic is the Coordinator of the UCI STEMath Club at Carr Intermediate School in Santa Ana. She teaches Math at Carr and holds graduate degree from UCLA and Teaching Credential from UCI.

German Encisco is an Associate professor in the UCI Mathematics Department. He is originally from Colombia and a native Spanish speaker. He is interested in mathematical biology research.

Randie Levine-Williams is a retired math teacher. She received her BA in Mathematics from UCLA and her MA in Education from University of Redlands. She also spent twelve years in computer sales and marketing. Her goal as a teacher has always been to create a fun, cooperative-learning environment utilizing hands-on activities.

Lucy Dolmadjian is a Math CEO Teaching Assistant and a third year undergraduate math and statistics student. She enjoys reading in her free time and hopes to pursue a career in biostatistics in the future.

Elena Mejia is a Math CEO Outreach Assistant and a third year undergraduate student studying Earth System Science.

Monica Gonzalez is a Math CEO Outreach Assistant and a second year undergraduate double major in Psychology & Social Behavior and Criminology Law & Society. She is eager to help others pursue a higher education when coming from a disadvantaged background.

Sergio Espejo is the Webmaster of Math CEO and a fourth year undergraduate math student at UCI. He is interested in photography and traveling to new places whenever time permits.

  • SANTA ANA MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS Gary Dyas, Lathrop Intermediate
    Maria Gomez-Greenberg, Lathrop
    Shiline Nguyen, Lathrop Intermediate
    Anne Marie Streckfus, Villa Intermediate
    Ruth Karr, Villa Intermediate
    Nikolina Petrova, Villa Intermediate
    David Rhodes, Lathrop Intermediate
    Villa Intermediate, Villa Intermediate

  • OTHER COLLABORATORS Roman Cardona, UC Irvine Financial Aid
    Penelope Collins, UCI School of Education
    Diane Hsieh, UCI School of Education
    Tanaz Gibbs, UC Irvine LARC
    Viviana Ramos, UC Irvine Upward Bound
    Tracie Welser, UC Irvine LARC
    Sandra Simpkins (UCI School of Education)
    Catlin Moore (UCI Beall Center for Art + Technology)
    MESA UNIDA UC Irvine

  • The mission of UCI's Learning and Academic Resource Center

  • LARC is to create independent, confident learners by connecting successful students trained as facilitators with peers enrolled in historically challenging courses, and by providing creative study strategies and encouraging active involvement in the enthusiastic pursuit of academic success.

Our Mentors

Past Mentors

Previous Team Members

  • Cynthia Sanchez
    Kevin Reimer
    Monica Romero
    Mariano Franco
    Danny Nguyen
    Sang Truong
    Juan Gabriel Malagon
    Marco Pinuelas
    Omar Simjee
    Mason Weupe
  • Jonathan Mau
    Micah Nacpil
    Ana Laura Govea Grajeda
    Maria Salazar
    Haley Feng
    Nohemy Mones
    Leonardo Castro
    Valeria Cardenas
    Phung Duong