Printer-friendly version

Distribution of descents in matchings

Speaker: 
Gene Kim
Institution: 
USC
Time: 
Tue, 02/20/2018 - 11:00am - 12:00pm
Host: 
Nathan Kaplan
Location: 
RH 306

The distribution of descents in certain conjugacy classes of S_n have been previously studied, and it is shown that its moments have interesting properties. This paper provides a bijective proof of the symmetry of the descents and major indices of matchings (also known as fixed point free involutions) and uses a generating function approach to prove an asymptotic normality theorem for the number of descents in matchings.

 

Proof of localization for Anderson Model in d dimension

Speaker: 
Xiaowen Zhu
Institution: 
UC Irvine
Time: 
Fri, 01/19/2018 - 2:00pm - 2:50pm
Host: 
Wencai Liu
Location: 
RH340N

I will introduce the model and structure of the proof,  and give the details next week.

Hongzi Cong

Name: 
Hongzi Cong
Visiting Associate Researcher
Contact
hongzic@uci.edu
510A Rowland Hall

Jeff Ludwig

Name: 
Jeff Ludwig
Lecturer
Contact
jtludwig@uci.edu
419 Rowland Hall

Sasa Kocic

Name: 
Sasa Kocic
Visiting Assistant Researcher
Contact
skocic@uci.edu
410P Rowland Hall

Feria Nojabaei

Name: 
Feria Nojabaei
Lecturer
Contact
snojabae@uci.edu
419 Rowland Hall

Ronald Sorace

Name: 
Ronald Sorace
Lecturer
Contact
soracer@uci.edu
479 Rowland Hall

Jason Wilkinson

Name: 
Wilkinson
Lecturer
Contact
jnwilkin@uci.edu
419 Rowland Hall

Caixia Kou

Name: 
Caixia Kou
Visiting Scholar Researcher
Contact
caixiak@uci.edu
533 Rowland hall

Danhua Wang

Name: 
Danhua Wang
Lecturer
Contact
danhuaw@uci.edu
419 Rowland Hall