MCBU Logo

MCBU Shedule

Wednesday, July 5
1:00-4:00 - Dorm room check-in
 
Thursday, July 6
1:00-5:00 - Kick-off Meeting and project descriptions (RH 306)
 
Agenda:
1:00 - 1:10 Welcome and overview of the program (F. Wan and G. Enciso)
1:10 - 1:30 Natasha Komarova
1:30 - 1:50 Felix Grun
1:50 - 2:10 Jun Allard
2:10 - 2:20 Break
2:20 - 2:40 German Enciso
2:40 - 3:10 Fred Wan
3:10 - 3:30 Dominik Wodarz
3:30 - 3:50 John Lowengrub
3:50 - 4:10 Closing - complete student preference forms
4:10 - 4:20 Laptop distribution
 
Friday, July 7
10am-11am Meet with faculty mentors at their office to discuss projects
1pm - 4pm Mathematica training Part I (F. Wan)
 
Monday, July 10
1:00-4:00 - Mathematica training Part II (F. Wan)
 
Tuesday, July 11
1:00-4:00 - Matlab training Part I (A. Iniguez)
 
Wednesday, July 12
1:00-4:00 - Matlab training Part II (A. Iniguez)
 
Thursday, July 13 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Professional Skills Workshop #1
Documenting Research and Writing Research Proposals
 
Thursday, July 20 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Professional Skills Workshop #2
LaTeX and Scientific Typesetting
 
Thursday, July 27 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Student Research Progress Presentations
 
Thursday, August 3 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Professional Skills Workshop #3
Effective Science Presentations
 
Thursday, August 10 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Professional Skills Workshop #4
Applying to Graduate School
 
Thursday, August 17 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Student Teachable Research Element Presentations
 
Thursday, August 24 (RH 340P)
2:00-4:00 Professional Skills Workshop #5
Scientific Writing
 
Tuesday, August 29 (RH 340P)
1:00-4:00 - Final Student Research Presentations