Southern California Number Theory Day

Saturday, October 22, 2011 at UC Irvine

To receive future announcements with updated details, please subscribe to the e-mail list. (If you subscribed last year, then you are still on the list.) This page will be updated when new information is available.


  9:30-10:00       refreshments; poster setup
10:00-11:00  Ralph Greenberg (University of Washington)    A proof of the derivative formula for Kubota-Leopoldt p-adic L-functions at trivial zeros
11:00-11:30       break
11:30-12:30   Adebisi Agboola (UC Santa Barbara)    Galois modules and equidistribution
12:30-  2:30       lunch break
  2:30-  3:30   Alina Cojocaru (UIC)    Elliptic curves modulo p
  3:30-  4:00       break
  4:00-  5:00   Fernando Rodriguez Villegas (UT Austin)    Hypergeometric motives: the case of Artin L-functions
  5:30   dinner

Registration: There is no registration fee, but to help our planning please register.

Location: Rowland Hall room 101, on the UCI campus (building 400, located at G7 on this map). This is the same room as last year.

New this year:

Dinner: There will be an informal dinner (pizza, salad, dessert) in the University Hills community room, at 1083 California Avenue, beginning at 5:30. Cost: $15 ($5 for graduate students). Pay at the dinner.

Driving directions and parking:

From the north: Take I-405 to 73 south, and exit at Bison (there is no toll, despite the confusing signs).
From the south: Take I-5 to 73 north, and exit 73 at Bison (this part of 73 is a toll road).

Take Bison east into campus. Continue straight ahead to lot 16 (see map). You can buy a parking permit from the machine at the entrance to lot 16. Park in lot 16, 12A, or 12B.

To park on campus you will need to purchase a parking permit. Parking may cost as much as $10 for the full day. You can buy a permit from one of the dispensers shown on the map. Most of the kiosks take credit cards. Quarterly or annual parking permits from other UC campuses are honored at UCI.

Group photos: #1, #2

Questions? e-mail Karl Rubin

Organizing committee: Karl Rubin, Alice Silverberg

This conference is supported by NSF grant DMS-1064510 and by the UCI Thorp chair endowment.