Seminar List

Printer-friendly version
Advancement to Candidacy Examination
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Fri Nov 3, 2017 Ching-Heng Chiu
University of California, Irvine - Department of Mathematics
Arithmetic and Analytic Local Root Numbers of Elliptic Curves 3:00 pm Rowland Hall 340N
Algebra
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Wed Oct 11, 2017 Steven Sam
University of Wisconsin
TBA 2:00 pm RH 440R
Analysis
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Sep 26, 2017 Connor Mooney
ETH
Finite time blowup for parabolic systems in two dimensions 3:00 pm RH 306
Applied and Computational Mathematics
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Oct 2, 2017 Louis Komzsik
Former Chief Numerical Analysts at Siemens
From Calculus to Rotor Dynamics 4:00 pm RH306
Mon Oct 16, 2017 Dejan Slepcev
Carnegie Mellon
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 17, 2017 Marc Potters
UCLA
TBA 11:00 am RH 306
Mon Nov 13, 2017 Janet Sinsheimer
UCLA
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Mon Nov 27, 2017 Yi Ming Zou
University of Milwaukee
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Mon Dec 4, 2017 Dongming Wei
Nazarbayev University
TBA 4:00 pm RH340
Mon Jan 22, 2018 Jianxian Qiu
Xiamen University
TBA 12:00 am RH306
Colloquium
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Thu Nov 9, 2017 Barry Simon
Caltech
More tales of our fathers 4:00 pm NS II 2201
Thu Dec 7, 2017 Carlos Kenig
University of Chicago
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Differential Geometry
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Sep 26, 2017 Yuan Yuan
Syracuse University
Holomorphic isometries from the Poincare disc into bounded symmetric domains 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 3, 2017 Xiaolong Li
UC Irvine
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 10, 2017 Heather Macbeth
MIT
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 17, 2017 Bogdan Suceava
Cal State, Fullerton
From Barbilian Geometries to Gromov Hyperbolic Spaces 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 24, 2017 Greg Pearlstein
Texas A&M University
TBA 4:00 pm Rowland Hall 306
Tue Nov 28, 2017 Sheel Ganatra
USC
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Mon Jan 22, 2018 - Fri Jan 26, 2018 SCGAS
Winter School
2018 SCGAS Winter School 9:00 am NS II 1201
Sat Jan 27, 2018 - Sun Jan 28, 2018 SCGAS
Conference
25th Southern California Geometric Analysis Seminar 11:00 am ELH 100
Tue Feb 13, 2018 Dan Knopf
UT Austin
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Dynamical Systems
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Oct 24, 2017 Isaac Goldbring
UC Irvine
Boundary amenability of groups via ultrapowers 1:00 pm RH 440R
Geometry and Topology
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Oct 9, 2017 Yi Ni
Caltech
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Mon Nov 20, 2017 Jennifer Wilson
Stanford University
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Mon Nov 27, 2017 Nick Salter
Harvard University
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Tue Nov 28, 2017 Sheel Ganatra
USC
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Logic Set Theory
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Oct 9, 2017 Isaac Goldbring
UCI
The Urysohn sphere is pseudofinite 4:00 pm RH 440R
Mon Nov 6, 2017 Nick Ramsey
UC Berkeley
TBA 4:00 pm RH 440R
Mon Nov 13, 2017 Aristotelis Panagiotopoulos
Caltech
TBA 4:00 pm RH 440R
Mon Nov 20, 2017 Kino Zhao
UCI (LPS)
Statistical learning and reliable processing 4:00 pm RH 440R
Nonlinear PDEs
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Oct 10, 2017 Zaher Hani
Georgia institute of Technology
TBD 3:00 pm RH 306
Tue Oct 17, 2017 Dejan Slepcev
Carnegie Mellon University
TBD 3:00 pm RH 306
Tue Dec 5, 2017 Albert Fathi
Georgia Institute of Technology
TBD 3:00 pm RH 306
Tue Jan 9, 2018 Gautam Iyer
Carnegie Mellon
TBD 3:00 pm RH306
Number Theory
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Oct 3, 2017 Isaac Goldbring
UCI
On a sumset conjecture of Erdos 2:00 pm RH 340P
Thu Oct 19, 2017 Joseph Gunther
University of Wisconsin/Université Paris-Sud
TBA 3:00 pm RH 306
Sat Oct 21, 2017 Southern California Number Theory Day
UCI
Southern California Number Theory Day 9:00 am
Tue Nov 7, 2017 Cezar Lupu
University of Pittsburgh
TBA 2:00 pm RH 340P
Probability
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Oct 17, 2017 Marc Potters
UCLA
TBA 11:00 am RH 306
Tue Oct 24, 2017 Pierre-François Rodriquez
UCLA
TBA 11:00 am RH 306
Fri Nov 3, 2017 Zhou Fan
Stanford
TBA 10:00 am NS 1201