Seminar List

Printer-friendly version
Advancement to Candidacy Examination
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Dec 5, 2017 Lora Weiss
University of California, Irvine - Department of Mathematics
Cellular Control Networks and Their Stability Against Mutations 11:30 am Natural Sciences II, Room 1201
Analysis
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Jan 23, 2018 Andrew Seth Raich
University of Arkansas
TBA 3:00 pm RH306
Applied and Computational Mathematics
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Nov 27, 2017 Yi Ming Zou
University of Milwaukee
Linear Dynamical Systems over a Finite Commutative Ring 4:00 pm RH 306
Fri Dec 1, 2017 Dongming Wei
Nazarbayev University
TBA 11:00 am RH440R
Thu Dec 7, 2017 Martin Stynes
Beijing Computational Science Research Center
TBA 12:00 am RH340P
Mon Jan 8, 2018 Kyle Pounder
University of Arizona
TBD 12:00 am RH 306
Mon Jan 22, 2018 Jianxian Qiu
Xiamen University
TBA 12:00 am RH306
Mon Feb 12, 2018 Xuehai Huang
Wenzhou University
TBA 12:00 am RH306
Mon Mar 5, 2018 Keith Promislow
Michigan State University
Fun stuff 4:00 pm
Colloquium
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Thu Dec 7, 2017 Andrew Suk
UCSD
On the Erdos-Szekeres convex polygon problem 4:00 pm RH 306
Thu Feb 15, 2018 Barry Simon
Caltech
More tales of our fathers 4:00 pm NS II 2201
Differential Geometry
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Nov 28, 2017 Sheel Ganatra
USC
Localizing the Fukaya category of a Stein manifold 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Dec 5, 2017 Greg Pearlstein
Texas A&M University
TBA 4:00 pm Rowland Hall 306
Tue Jan 16, 2018 Davi Maximo
University of Pennsylvania
tba 4:00 pm RH 306
Mon Jan 22, 2018 - Fri Jan 26, 2018 SCGAS
Winter School
2018 SCGAS Winter School 9:00 am NS II 1201
Sat Jan 27, 2018 - Sun Jan 28, 2018 SCGAS
Conference
25th Southern California Geometric Analysis Seminar 11:00 am ELH 100
Tue Jan 30, 2018 Norman Zergaenge
University of Warwick
Convergence of Riemannian manifolds with scale invariant curvature bounds 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Feb 13, 2018 Dan Knopf
UT Austin
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Feb 27, 2018 Adam Jacob
UC Davis
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Mar 6, 2018 Henri Roesch
UC Irvine
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Tue Mar 13, 2018 Matthew Gursky
University of Notre Dame
TBA 4:00 pm RH 306
Geometry and Topology
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Nov 27, 2017 Nick Salter
Harvard University
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Tue Nov 28, 2017 Sheel Ganatra
USC
Localizing the Fukaya category of a Stein manifold 4:00 pm RH 306
Mon Dec 4, 2017 Joint Seminar Joint Los Angeles Topology Seminar at Caltech 4:00 pm 201 E Bridge
Mon Jan 8, 2018 Bena Tshishiku
Harvard University
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Mon Feb 5, 2018 Carolyn Abbott
UC Berkeley
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Mon Mar 12, 2018 Marc Hoyois
USC
TBA 4:00 pm RH 340P
Logic Set Theory
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Mon Nov 27, 2017 Toby Meadows
University of Queensland
A Step Back from Forcing 4:00 pm RH 440R
Mon Dec 4, 2017 Scott Cramer
California State University San Bernardino
Algebraic properties of elementary embeddings 4:00 pm RH 440R
Nonlinear PDEs
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Dec 5, 2017 Albert Fathi
Georgia Institute of Technology
TBD 3:00 pm RH 306
Tue Jan 9, 2018 Gautam Iyer
Carnegie Mellon
TBD 3:00 pm RH306
Thu Feb 15, 2018 Jeremy LeCrone
University of Richmond
TBA 3:00 pm 440R
Number Theory
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Jan 9, 2018 Daniel Hast
University of Wisconsin
TBA (Note the unusual day of the week) 3:00 pm RH 340P
Thu Jan 11, 2018 Maurice Rojas
Texas A&M University
TBA 3:00 pm RH 306
Thu Jan 18, 2018 Niccolo' Ronchetti
UCLA
TBA 3:00 pm RH 306
Thu Feb 8, 2018 Sean Howe
Stanford University
TBA 3:00 pm RH 306
Ph.D. Defense
Date Speaker Title Time Location
Tue Dec 5, 2017 Karen Wood
University of California, Irvine - Department of Mathematics
Mathematical Modeling of Cooperation Based Diversification and Speciation 10:00 am Rowland Hall 340N