Paata Ivanisvili and Jesse Wolfson have received NSF CAREER awards. This award was created to recognize and honor outstanding scientists and engineers at the outset of their independent research careers.



Tatiana Arizaga

Professors Steven Allison, James Bullock, Steven Davis, James Randerson, Eric Rignot, Isabella Velicogna and Jasper Vrugt have been named to the ... more

Congratulations to John S. Lowengrub, Chancellor’s Professor of Mathematics and Biomedical Engineering for being named Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  New fellows will each receive an official... more

Professor Lana Jitomirskaya has been awarded the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics. Some past prize winners were Steven Weinberg, Giorgio Parisi, Eugene Wigner and Steven Hawking.  

UCI just made a press release announcing the... more

Roberto Pelayo was featured in the October 9 edition of Lathisms. Roberto joined the department this year and has already made an impact, in particular in our date science program. You can access Lathisms at http://... more

Michael Cranston Named IMS Fellow

Michael Cranston, Professor, University of California, Irvine, has been named Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).  An induction ceremony took place on July 29, 2019,... more

The UCI Math Department's Math CEO (Community Educational Outreach) Program has been recognized with a grant from the American Honda Foundation.  Led by Math Department Professors Alessandra Pantano and Li-Sheng Tseng, this innovative outreach... more

Congratulations to Professors Bernard Russo and Robert Pluta! Their paper has been selected as the 2018 Best Paper Award Winner (among 111 papers published in the years 2016 and 2017 in Advances in Operator Theory).

To... more


One would assume that during the French and American wars in Vietnam, the impoverished guerrillas of the Viet Minh and NLF must have been badly outmatched on the purely technical side of warfare, including cryptography. However,... more