Professor Svetlana Jitomirskaya has been elected the Vice-President of the International Association of Mathematical Physics (IAMP) for the three year period beginning January 1, 2012, through a... more

Professor Gilbert Strang and Professor Milton Graeme will visit the UCI Math Department as part of the Department of Mathematics Distinguished Visitor Series for the 2011-2012 academic year. 


... more

Christoph Marx has been awarded the prestigious Chancellor's Club for Excellence Fellowship. The purpose of the fellowships is to "recognize and reward our most academically superior doctoral... more

Professor Natalia Komarova has been awarded the UCI Academic Senate Distinguished Mid-Career Faculty Award for Research. This award was established in 2002 to honor "mid-range... more

Professor Gunther Uhlmann, the Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair in Mathematics at UCI, has been appointed a Rothschild Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Isaac Newton Institute. More... more

Professor Hongkai Zhao and his former doctoral student Hao Gao have been featured on the UCI homepage. The article can be found here.

The paper "Robust principal... more

Dr. Sarah Eichhorn has been awarded one of the 2011 Alder Awards from the Mathematical Association of America. The award is in recognition of her... more

Professor Edriss Titi has been invited to give a Keynote Lecture at the International Union of Theoertical and Applied Mechanics Symposium. The IUTAM Symposium will be held July 23-27, 2012 at the Isaac... more

In recognition of his outstanding efforts in mentoring undergraduate research projects, Professor John Lowengrub has been named Faculty Mentor of the Month by the UCI... more