Speaker: Donald Saari
Professor of Mathematics
University of California, Irvine
Event date: May 15, 2012 - 7:30am
Sponsored / Hosted by: Discover the Physical Sciences... more

On Saturday, May 5th the UCI Mathematics Department will host a pair of community outreach events.
From 9:00am - 11:00am we will have a Mathematics Workshop for High school students which will explore higher level abstract mathematics... more

Hundreds of middle-school students rambled around the UC Irvine Student Center last month as they participated in the Southern California State MATHCOUNTS competition. This year's Mathletes prepared for months to finally compete with fellow... more

Congratulations to Dr. Alessandra Pantano!  She has been awarded a grant from the Mathematical Association of America.

The... more

Professor Yifeng Yu has been awarded an NSF CAREER Award. This is one of the most prestigious awards available to a junior faculty member. Recipients are "junior faculty who... more

In February 2012, 6 teams of 3 students from UCI participated in the international Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM). The results just came out and all the teams earned certificates, with two teams earning special designations.
 ... more

Congratulations to Professor Edriss Titi who was named a SIAM Fellow for his work on analytical and computational studies of nonlinear partial... more

Professor Gunther Uhlmann will present the 6th AMS Einstein Public Lecture in Mathematics, which will be held at the George Washington University campus, in Washington D.C., on Saturday, March 17, 2012. The title of his talk will be Cloaking... more

Professor Matthew Foreman has been invited to speak at the Fields Institute in the fall term of 2012 as part of their Distinguished Lecture Series. "The Fields... more