Congratulations to Professor Edriss Titi who was named a SIAM Fellow for his work on analytical and computational studies of nonlinear partial... more

Professor Gunther Uhlmann will present the 6th AMS Einstein Public Lecture in Mathematics, which will be held at the George Washington University campus, in Washington D.C., on Saturday, March 17, 2012. The title of his talk will be Cloaking... more

Professor Matthew Foreman has been invited to speak at the Fields Institute in the fall term of 2012 as part of their Distinguished Lecture Series. "The Fields... more

The Orange County Regional MATHCOUNTS competition will be taking place at UCI on Saturday, February 18 between 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Our OC mathletes have been coaching for months to finally begin competing! Students will compete individually or... more

Anar Ahkmedov, who earned his PhD from UCI in 2006 under the direction of Professor Ron Stern,... more

Professor Edriss Titi will give the SIAM Invited Address at the 2012 Joint Mathematics Meeting which will take place in Boston on January 4-7, 2012. He will speak on "Navier-Stokes, Euler, and other relevant equations... more

Professor Gilbert Strang will be visiting the Department of Mathematics from January 31st through February 2nd as part of the Department's Distinguished Lecture Series. He will be giving two talks.

Professor Gilbert Strang is a Professor... more

The Conference in Geometric Analysis in honor of Peter Li's research will be held at the UCI Student Center from January 14 through January 17, 2012.

Speakers include:

... more

The Mathematics Department at UCI, with the support of NSF RTG grant DMS-1044150, is proud to present "Secrets of Mental Math," a breathtaking show by the great mathemagician Dr. Arthur Benjamin.

The event is part of a math seminar series... more