Fourteen current and emeritus UCI Math faculty have been elected to the inaugural class of the Fellows of the American Mathematical Society.  This program "recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition,... more

Professor Matthew Foreman will give three lectures at the Fields Institute from November 7-9, 2012 as part of their Distinguished Lecture Series. "The Fields... more

Mathematics and biomedical engineering professor Qing Nie and biological chemistry professor Xing Dai have been awarded $2 million by... more

The UC Irvine Department of Mathematics has been awarded a highly competitive Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need grant.  The GAANN program provides "fellowships through... more

Seth Figueroa is awarded a 2012 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF).  The NSF-GRF fellowship consisting of an annual stipend of $30,000 for three years is considered to be one of the most prestigious graduate... more

Professor Edriss Titi will give a Keynote Lecture at the International Union of Theoertical and Applied Mechanics Symposium on July 25, 2012. He will speak on "... more

Professor Edriss Titi will be one of five plenary speakers at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society. He will speak on... more

Congratulations to Professor Svetlana Jitomirskaya! She has been awarded the title of Chancellor's Fellow for three years. This campus title is used to honor and... more

A Conference on Inverse Problems in Honor of Gunther Uhlmann will be held at the UCI Student Center from June 18-22, 2012. More details are available on the conference website:... more

Congratulations to Professor Alice Silverberg and Dr. Sarah Eichhorn!

Professor Alice Silverberg has been recognized as the 2012 Honoree for Excellence in... more