11/02/2012 - 12:00am

Fourteen current and emeritus UCI Math faculty have been elected to the inaugural class of the Fellows of the American Mathematical Society.  This program "recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics."  The inaugural class consists of 1119 Fellows from over 600 institutions.

Regarding the new Fellows of the AMS program and the Society, AMS President Eric M. Friedlander says, "The AMS is the world's largest and most influential society dedicated to mathematical research, scholarship, and education. Recent advances in mathematics include solutions to age-old problems and key applications useful for society. The new AMS Fellows Program recognizes some of the most accomplished mathematicians -- AMS members who have contributed to our understanding of deep and important mathematical questions, to applications throughout the scientific world, and to educational excellence."

A list of the UCI AMS Fellows is below:
Michael Fried - Professor Emeritus
Abel Klein
Peter Li
Zhiqin Lu
Charles Newman
Richard Palais
Karl Rubin
Donald Saari
Alice Silverberg
Ronald Stern - Professor Emeritus
Chuu-Lian Terng
Edriss Titi
Gunther Uhlmann
Jack Xin

For more information about the program or to see a full list of Fellows, please visit the AMS Fellows site.